The debut solo album from the writer, producer & Porcupine Tree founder Steven Wilson

By Kscope on January 28, 2009 in Lasse Hoile, Mini-site, New Releases, No-Man, Porcupine Tree, Steven Wilson

A new mini-site for Insurgentes is now online at www.insurgentes.org. In addition to audio clips, a free mp3 and downloads, the site also features a remix competition. The remix that Steven judges to be best will be included on a future official Steven Wilson release. If you are looking for some inspiration, there are two new mixes from Engineers (Kscope’s newest act) and Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson) already available to stream on the site.

The first single to be taken from the album, Harmony Korine, is available to pre-order from the site. Harmony Korine will be issued as a limited edition 7 inch vinyl single in a choice of three different colours – black, white, and blood red, each limited to 1,000 copies. The single will only be available through the mini-site.

A video for Harmony Korine is currently being made by long time collaborator Lasse Hoile and will be streamed from the site as soon as it’s ready! Lasse is also putting the finishing touches to the Insurgentes documentary. Trailers for the film are also streaming on the mini-site.

The mini-site also includes;
•Free mp3 track download
•Remix competition – winner to be included on an official Steven Wilson release
•New mixes from Engineers  and Pat Mastelotto
•Pre-order links for ltd edition 7″ single Harmony Korine (only available from the mini-site)
•Audio streams
•Video for Harmony Korine coming soon
•Trailers from the forthcoming Insurgentes documentary, filmed by Lasse Hoile
•Web and mobile phone downloads
•Artwork Gallery
 IPod destruction videos coming soon

Acclaimed for his work with Porcupine Tree, Opeth and Anja Garbarek amongst others, Steven Wilson’s debut album Insurgentes will be released on Kscope on the 9th of March 2009 (24th February in the US and digitally from 16th February)

Comprising 10 new tracks that range from ballads and anthems to all-out industrial noise assaults, the dark, cinematic and richly textured album represents two years’ worth of creative output and numerous recording sessions worldwide in studios from Mexico City to Japan and Israel.

While Wilson is a member of several bands including Blackfield, No-Man and Bass Communion, he explains that: “when I began writing these songs, I quickly realized that they would be best suited to an album under my own name.  It was an intuitive, almost unconscious writing process that resulted in a kind of ‘poetry of melancholy.”  The final product inhabits a similar experimental realm as recent albums by Thom Yorke, Portishead, and Nine Inch Nails.

Wilson recruited a stellar cast of guests to work on the album including bassist Tony Levin, drummer Gavin Harrison, and keyboardist Jordan Rudess, alongside Japanese Koto player Michiyo Yagi, British guitarist Sand Snowman, and jazz flautist and saxophonist Theo Travis.