Steven Wilson – NSRGNTS RMXS details

By Kscope on May 15, 2009 in New Releases, Steven Wilson


New release featuring remixes of tracks from Steven Wilson‘s Insurgentes album


Insurgentes, the debut album from Steven Wilson, was released earlier this year on Kscope. The album immediately received a rapturous reception from not just fans and critics but also from fellow artists. Several of these artists have remixed tracks from the album and NSRGNTS RMXS is a collection of some of these remixes.

The CD edition features a mix of the albums opening track Harmony Korine by David A. Sitek, currently enjoying massive critical acclaim for the new TV On The Radio album. Underground hip-hop pioneers Dälek have created a dark, brooding mix of Get All You Deserve (think Massive Attack meets UNKLE). Engineers, who return on July 6th with their new album Three Fact Fader, have brought their widescreen sound to Abandoner while Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, XTC) has created a sprawling mix of Salvaging and drone act Fear Falls Burning have also reworked Get All You Deserve.

The 12”vinyl edition of NSRGNTS RMXS will only available from the Kscope store. It also features the David A. Sitek mix along with two mixes of Only Child by Pat Mastelotto.

The full tracklist for the vinyl is:
A1. Harmony Korine (David A Sitek mix) 5.14
B1. Only Child (Pat Mastelotto mix 3) 4.32
B3. Only Child (Pat Mastelotto mix 1) 5.56

The mini-album is completed by the winner of the remix competition. The competition offered fans the chance to remix the Insurgentes track Abandoner. With the competition now closed Steven has listened to all the entries and whittled them down to a final eight mixes. The eight mixes are now up on the insurgentes mini-site giving fans the chance to vote for their favourite. Voting ends on Friday May 29th.

The full tracklist for the CD is:
1. Harmony Korine (Magnetized Nebula remix by David A Sitek)
2. Get All You Deserve (Dälek mix)
3. Abandoner (Engineers mix)
4. Salvaging (Pat Mastelotto mix)
5. Get All You Deserve (Fear Falls Burning mix)
6. Abandoner (Remix Competition winner)

A digital edition will also be available which will collects all six tracks available on the CD and 12”.

NSRGNTS RMXS is available now from the Kscope store.