Steven Wilson – ‘Get All You Deserve’ concert film out now

By Kscope on August 29, 2012 in Blu-ray, DVD, Lasse Hoile, Live, Mini-site, New Releases, Steven Wilson, Tour, Video

Directed by long-time visual collaborator Lasse Hoile, Get All You Deserve was filmed in Mexico City during the recent Grace For Drowning Tour. The film is part of a new high definition audio-visual set which captures the spectacular live experience that Wilson and Hoile created for the tour on Blu-ray, DVD and 2CD.

Grace For Drowning was the second album released under Wilson’s own name, following 2009’s exceptionally well-receivedInsurgentes. The album, released in September 2011, entered the UK top 40 album chart at #34, both the Dutch and German national charts at #22, the US Billboard Rock album chart at #19 (#13 in independent chart) and debuted at #7 in the Polish national charts.

Following the release of Grace For Drowning, Steven embarked on his first ever solo tour, assembling a virtuoso band, featuring Marco Minnemann (drums), Nick Beggs (bass), Theo Travis (flute and sax), Adam Holzman (keys) and Niko Tsonev (guitars), to accompany him. For the shows he worked extensively with Lasse to create a show unlike nothing else that he had ever done with his other bands, Porcupine Tree, Blackfield, No-Man or Bass Communion.

The shows submerged fans in a rich sensory experience: rear speakers provide surround-sound effects, giant screens show off Lasse’s films made specifically to accompany these songs, and cutting-edge lighting designs giving texture to each song.

Get All You Deserve captures one of the highlight shows from the tour. Recorded at a sold-out Teatro Metropólitan in Mexico City, the gig features tracks from both Wilson’s solo albums along with the new, as yet unreleased, track Luminol. 

Standard retail editions (stand alone DVD and Blu-ray plus 4disc set) are in stores now.



Watch ‘Harmony Korine’, taken from the concert below

Check out the ‘Get All You Deserve’ web page, for more info

Check out Steven’s Soundcloud channel for more live tracks from the Grace for Drowning tour 2011/12



‘This is a magnificent step up; he simply can’t be stopped.’
Classic Rock Prog #1 album of the year readers poll 

‘An album that can’t really be described but it urgently calls to be heard’
Classic Rock

‘Wilson’s ability to create music so prodigiously and to such consistent standards remains a mystery. With his second solo album, the Porcupine Tree leader has done it again.’
Metal Hammer

‘an immersive, ambitious project that demands repeated spins’

‘A dense yet extremely coherent album Grace For Drowning succeeds brilliantly… Prog album of the year’
(FIVE STARS) Terrorizer

‘A majestic soundscape created by an innovative, forward-looking musician immersed in the history of music’
Record Collector

‘Prog rock wrung dry of nostalgia, perfect not for drowning but immersion.’
(FOUR STARS)  Rolling Stone

Track listing for Get All You Deserve

1.       Intro (‘Citadel’)
2.       No Twilight Within the Courts of the Sun
3.       Index
4.       Deform to Form a Star
5.       Sectarian
6.       Postcard
7.       Remainder the Black Dog
8.       Harmony Korine
9.       Abandoner
10.    Like Dust I Have Cleared From My Eye
11.    Luminol
12.    Veneno Para Las Hadas
13.    No Part of Me
14.    Raider II
15.    Get All You Deserve
16.    Outro (‘Litany’)


Check out the ‘Get All You Deserve’ web page, for more info

Check out Steven’s Soundcloud channel for more live tracks from the Grace for Drowning tour 2011/12