SW-I-PACKSHOTSteven Wilson, four-time Grammy nominee, multi-instrumentalist and producer, kicked off his solo career with studio album and documentary film Insurgentes.

Acclaimed for his work with Porcupine Tree, Opeth and Anja Garbarek amongst others, Steven Wilson’s debut album Insurgentes was released on Kscope in 2009. Comprising 10 new tracks that range from ballads and anthems to all-out industrial noise assaults, the dark, cinematic and richly textured album represents two years’ worth of creative output and numerous recording sessions worldwide in studios from Mexico City to Japan and Israel.

Whilst Wilson was a member of several bands including Blackfield, No-Man and Bass Communion, he explained that “when I began writing these songs, I quickly realized that they would be best suited to an album under my own name.  It was an intuitive, almost unconscious writing process that resulted in a kind of ‘poetry of melancholy.”  The final product inhabits a similar experimental realm as solo albums by Thom Yorke, Portishead, and Nine Inch Nails in the late 2000s.

Steven Wilson recruited a stellar cast of guests to work on the album including bassist Tony Levin, drummer Gavin Harrison, and keyboardist Jordan Rudess, alongside Japanese Koto player Michiyo Yagi, British guitarist Sand Snowman, and jazz flautist and saxophonist Theo Travis.

Insurgentes is also a documentary film about Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) directed by Lasse Hoile.  A musical road movie that follows the making of his solo record of the same name, the film features footage of Wilson with other artists and friends including Mikael Akerfeldt from Opeth, Jonas Renkse from Katatonia, the Israeli superstar Aviv Geffen and the legendary producer Trevor Horn.

More videos from Steven Wilson    Videos archive


1. Harmony Korine (05:07)
2. Abandoner (04:48)
3. Salvaging (08:17)
4. Veneno Para Las Hadas (05:57)
5. No Twilight Within The Courts Of The Sun (08:37)
6. Significant Other (04:31)
7. Only Child (04:24)
8. Twilight Coda (03:24)
9. Get All You Deserve (06:17)
10. Insurgentes (03:55)

“A beautiful and mysterious record… Insurgentes is the work of a genuine artist” Classic Rock

“Wilson has created yet another masterpiece.. an incredible music journey and essential purchase” PROG

“This is a valuable insight into one of the UK’s greatest talents. Essential for fans but also a great introduction.” Guitarist (on the docu film)

“Insurgentes’ stunning musicianship offers a free-sprawling, exquisitely dejected tour of our psychic hinterlands, and one that will resonate for many years to come.” Metal Hammer

steven wilson pic

Podcast Episode 60 - A Steven Wilson Special