Synthphonic dream-prog duo, The Receiver, release new emotional remix collection Air in the Embers

Jesse and Casey, brothers from Ohio, USA, formed The Receiver in 2005 and joined the Kscope family in 2015 to release their third album, All Burn. An album which takes inspiration from the likes of Mew, Blonde Redhead, Radiohead, Air and Pink Floyd, with a focus on a dreamier aesthetic than their earlier work. Watch the official music video for To Battle and Island from All Burn HERE.

The remix release, Air in the Embers, features a cover of Elliott Smith’s “Between the Bars”, originally recorded as a proposal to Casey’s girlfriend, makes for a brooding, tender finale to the collection. The three “excerpts” on the release are stripped-back versions of the original tracks from the All Burn album mixed by the band themselves, with “These Days” transformed into two minutes of evocative, synth-only beauty.

As a teaser for the release, The Receiver have released an montage of the collection, available to listen via YouTube below. The full Air in the Embers release is available to DOWNLOAD and STREAM.

As for the remixes, The Receiver were big fans of Kscope stalwarts North Atlantic Oscillation before joining the label, and their idols did not let down with the remix; an understated, Bonobo-esque bass and drum line lays the foundation to a masterful mix that harnesses the raw emotion of Casey’s vocals. Also featured are Glenn Davis and Medallion, with the euphoric, downtempo opening tracks; Fu_k the Zeitgeist, Kscope’s regular remixers are the Brazilian group previously known as Worldengine, and Bohm offers his take on All Burn’s single “Transit”.

Casey explains that the album showcases parts of the original tracks that weren’t prominent in All Burn: “We’re lucky to have other artists reinvent some of the original songs from All Burn. It gives us the opportunity to present the material from the album in a new light. Every remix is really unique, and the isolated synth tracks feature parts from the album that are difficult to hear with everything else going on. We’re just happy to share the music from a different angle with anyone who wants to listen.”

“Wonderful atmospheres and iridescent dreamy quality….filled with a richness of sound and moods, with a glowing ambience that must be heard to be believed.”All Music Guide


Midwest symphonic dream-prog duo, The Receiver, have launched a new music video for the track ‘To Battle an Island’, taken from its recently released full-length, All Burn, out now on Kscope.

Stream the ‘To Battle an Island’ music video, directed by M.J. Smith below.

Commented vocalist/keyboardist, Casey Cooper: “I had the pleasure of jumping into freezing water wearing a hazmat suit multiple times, which gave me the sensation of being water boarded. Jesse conveniently sat that part out.  Even so, working with M.J. Smith was a blast. We didn’t have anything specific in mind for the video, so he conceptualized and we all just ran with it. And I love giving other artists the chance to reinterpret our music. So while in the song I tried to make being rejected by my girlfriend sound as cool as possible, the video sort of twists and plays with that concept with the main character trying to escape the entire time. Add in a few sci-fi elements for good fun, and there you have it.”

In addition to the music video, The Receiver has also announced an extensive U.S. headlining tour, set to kick off this month. A full list of confirmed tour dates can be seen below – the tour starts in Columbus Ohio on 13th February and runs through to 23rd July with more dates still being added.

Comprised of brothers Casey (vocals, synths/keyboards, bass) and Jesse Cooper (drums & vocals), the siblings call their third studio album, All Burn, their “best material to date which focuses on a dreamier aesthetic than our earlier work.”All Burn, the band’s Kscope debut, is also the first self-produced Receiver album, with mixing handled by Danny Kalb (Beck, Ben Harper, Foster the People, Karen O) and mastering by Brian Lucey (Sigur Ros, The Shins, The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys).

TheReceiver_004 sml

All Burn – the group’s debut on Kscope is OUT NOW

Comprised of brothers Casey (vocals, synths/keyboards, bass) and Jesse Cooper (drums & vocals), the siblings call All Burn their “best material to date which focuses on a dreamier aesthetic than our earlier work.” All Burn is also the first self-produced Receiver album, with mixing handled by Danny Kalb (Beck, Ben Harper, Foster the People, Karen O) and mastering by Brian Lucey (Sigur Ros, The Shins, The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys).

Jesse Cooper: “We’re hoping our fans will think this album was worth the wait! It’s the first time we’ve completely self-produced one of our albums, and we feel we got it right. This album is on the more ambient and groovier side, but is still undeniably a Receiver album. We feel it’s our best work to date, from music to concept. We wanted to make an album with a collection of songs that are able to stand alone by themselves, but also had a cohesiveness to listen to as a complete piece of work. The end goal was to create an album that stands the test of time.”


1. Drift
2. Transit
3. To Battle an Island
4. Collector
5. Dark Matter
6. April Blades
7. The Summit
8. Let It Dry
9. All Burn
10. How to be Young
11. These Days

soundcloud.com / twitter.com / facebook / spotify / instagram


“A lot of music out there is one and done,” added Casey. “It might be really catchy at first, but it’s so instantly gratifying that it loses its luster after a few repeated listens. Our hope is that our music is catchy, but to always have layers that don’t demand attention upon first listen. The goal is to provide a lot for the listener to comb through over time – music to get lost in for a while.”

For a taste of what’s to come, check out the band’s stripped down performance of two stripped down album tracks from the ‘Mug & Brush Sessions’ below. The brainchild of Jim Morris, owner of The Mug & Brush barbershop in Columbus, Ohio, the sessions are an independent music video series featuring national and local Columbus artists, performed in the barber shop. Sessions are engineered and mixed by Keith Hanlon.


Formed in 2005 at The Ohio State University, The Receiver released its debut album, Decades, in 2006 on the New York-based, Stunning Models On Display Records. The duo returned with the sophomore offering, Length of Arms, in 2009 through Vital Music Records.

The Receiver is an incredibly active touring partnership, having played throughout North America and sharing the stage with notable acts such as St. Vincent, Midlake, The Album Leaf, Mono, Dawes, Royal Canoe, Maserati, Telefon Tel Aviv, Mr. Gnome and Operators to name a few, as well as performing at 2014’s CMJ Festival in New York.

The brothers have been featured on MTV2’s “Bands on The Rise,” and have songs included on the FX Network’s series, Dirt, as well as a number of independent shorts and films.

Album Stream

“sounds like Pink Floyd meeting Mew at an ambient electronica night, before collaborating on an A-list indie movie soundtrack”
TEAM ROCK’s Limelight Feature

“a majestic, expansive record filled with electronic flourishes, soaring vocals and melody to spare.”

“a brilliant array of shimmering sorrow and opaque optimism”