NAO header pic

New promo for 'Chirality', taken from Fog Electric

watch this video on YouTube / watch on Vimeo


Listen to more tracks from the album




NAO Live in Session for Marc Riley 1/7/13

NAO header pic


Listen to NAO's live session on Marc Riley's BBC 6 Music show, from 7th June

Fog Electric, the new album from North Atlantic Oscillation

NAO header picFog Electric is the new album from North Atlantic Oscillation. It is now available as a 2CD set, featuring the original album along with a bonus disc containing the Chirality EP, which has previously only been available digitally.

The EP features remixes by the Mercury nominated act The Invisible and respected newcomers Nedry alongside the title track and an alternate mix of previous single ‘Savage With Barometer’. In addition, the EP also features the band’s cover of ‘One Good Reason’ by Bob Mould. Upon hearing the NAO version of the track, Mould was so impressed that he invited the band to support him on his upcoming UK tour (dates posted below)

North Atlantic Oscillation is the climactic phenomenon caused by fluctuations in the atmospheric pressure between the Icelandic low and Azores high; a clash of hot and cold. It seems a perfect tag for a band of such contrasts; – the contrast of melding timeless rock moves with sequencing and the latest laptop technology, and the contrast of dark foreboding tones and blissed-out serotonin-fuelled pastoral sweeps. There’s a surprise around every corner

NAO are based in Edinburgh. They are Sam Healy (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, programming) and Ben Martin (drums, synths, programming). They are joined live by Bill Walsh (bass, vocals) and Chris Howard (bass & synths).

Fog Electric was recorded and produced by Tony Doogan (Super Furry Animals, Mogwai, Teenage Fanclub, Belle & Sebastian). The album was the follow-up to Grappling Hooks, the band’s debut which received massive critical acclaim when it was released in 2010. The band have been championed by Guy Garvey, Marc Riley, Zane Lowe, BBC Scotland, BBC Introducing, Prog magazine, Drowned In Sound and many more.

“Moments of brilliance and genuine beauty.”

“Psychedelic wonder and shimmery tunefulness..
the nexus of pop, prog, post- rock and shoegaze”


1. Soft Coda
2. Chirality
3. Mirador
4. Empire Waste
5. Savage With Barometer 6. Interval
7. Expert With Altimeter 8. The Receiver
9. Downhill
10. (Theory of Tides)

1. Chirality (radio edit)
2. Savage With Barometer (Alternate Mix)
3. Chirality (The Invisible remix)
4. One Good Reason
5. Soft Coda (Nedry remix)


Download NAO's cover of Bob Mould's track 'One Good Reason'


RSS news
Twitter profile